Highly Sensitive For a Reason

Overthinking and over-processing led me to a beautiful discovery

Carolyn Riker
Get Inside

--

My hair is greying at the temples, where my thoughts dwell in a sea of clarity. All I feel are the zeros inside of circles. Such as the seasons, time, and earth, turn me into a Tree, I am.

Skies see me and blink in earnest, nodding as I walk my way.

I’m learning to understand who I am.

Mistakes are my wisdom. Unknowing what I thought I knew teaches me more than pretending. Asking for help to reach what I am unable to do, isn’t weak.

Sensitivity crafts me a vessel, and we sail over the seas not only to think but to weep. I’m not alone when the answers are few. More have come before me. That’s why the oceans are so salty.

And so, with this bit of overthinking, I can still smile and laugh with myself, which leads me to poeticness too.

Let’s turn down the sun, and let’s turn up the moon. Let’s trace the stars with our eyelashes. Let’s listen to the circles together. Let’s dream a vast dream.

Because we are all intrinsically interconnected — equally belonging to the circle of loving, living, and dying.

Let’s make this world more true.

Carolyn Riker is a writer, social activist, licensed psychotherapist, a lover of learning & words. She’s on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and her 3 books are available on Amazon.

--

--

Carolyn Riker
Get Inside

Carolyn's latest book, The Colors I Hear, is now available!