On Upper Room Quilts

G.R. MELVIN
Get Inside
Published in
Oct 13, 2021
photo-haley owens (unsplash)

I’d put the pockmarks

Really imagined

Right up there why

I sheltered in shy.

I bet my ballocks,

Too full like my skull,

Hairpin triggered,…

They both strained my locks.

Old rain windowed our talks.

We’d wait ’till they weren't awake,

On upper room quilts.

Whispering in our underthings,

Saying secrets low, no guilt.

The big black would not hide us none.

I would seek her beacon smile,

She would watch me redden.

Way short of once and awhile

Our smooth skins would meet

Like downed power lines go

On a new snow street.

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
Get Inside

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”