Vapor

What’s a word when,/By Beauty arises,/As if by duty; a vapour

G.R. MELVIN
Get Inside
1 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

Some people react physically to the magic of poetry, to the moments, that is, of authentic revelation, of the communication, the sharing, at its highest level…A good poem is a contribution to reality. The world is never the same once a good poem has been added to it. A good poem helps to change the shape and significance of the universe, helps to extend everyone’s knowledge of himself and the world around him. ― Dylan Thomas (1914–1953)

.

What’s a word when,

By Beauty arises,

As if by duty; a vapour,

Massive, a new/age/old ghost image

That mostly moves you.

I mean, Keenly moves you.

.

oh, Yo Yo’s cello, Jaco’s bass,

the subtle secret coves Jarrett streams you into

oh my heart, oh my head

are right in your face,

a fragile, secret love that Chet

dares to torch on,

torned down until morn

there right on his horn,

.

What’s a word when

A vapour, ghost image…

oh my heart, oh my head

“Pre possess ed”

--

--

G.R. MELVIN
Get Inside

“science of truth isn’t my strong suit. But I can watch from a garage roof; take semi evaluative notes, & make up semi reflective reports, & fake some control”