Box Canyon Hike

Brittany Crane
Get Out There Girl
Published in
2 min readApr 30, 2020

Box Canyon is a short slot canyon inside Maple Canyon. Total hike distance is only 1 mile. It is a wider slot canyon and has a few obstacles to reach the waterfall. I don’t recommend going with children unless you have at least two adults to help. There are several areas to scramble and climb in order to continue the hike. My kids loved it.

To enter Box Canyon follow AllTrails and google maps to the unmarked trail head. Cross the small stream and enter the canyon on the right side of the dirt road.
The rock walls were incredible

Maple Canyon is known all over the world for incredible rock climbing. Now that I have been there I can see why. I can’t wait to go back without kids and climb. We saw a few climbers in Box Canyon and stopped to watch for a few minutes. My three year old said, “That’s awesome! I want to do that when I’m big.” He’s going to be quite the adventurer when he gets older. I can already see how much he loves it.

As always, it was wonderful to be outside in nature moving our bodies and breathing fresh air. We loved this hike and can’t wait for you to experience it as well. Follow me on Alltrails to see all of my hikes.

--

--