Get Out There Girl June Retreat

Brittany Crane
Get Out There Girl
Published in
5 min readJun 18, 2019

This month we had an amazing retreat down in Southern Utah. We rented a beautiful home big enough for all of us and we went exploring.

GOTG Motto: You have one life. Live it.

On Friday we hiked Kanarra Falls. It is a beautiful slot canyon hike that involves knee deep water. The weather was perfect and the water temperature was pleasant. I had previously done the hike two months before and our photographer, Arika, had done it one week before. We both ended up with numb feet. The water was FREEZING! I even had to put my jacket on in the slot canyon because I got so cold. This time however it was perfect. We really felt blessed because it was so perfect.

After the hike we headed to the Airbnb where our Chef, Bailey, had dinner and dessert ready for us. Spoiled I know.

Bailey our Chef.
Bread Pudding

After dinner we gave each woman a gift. A water bottle and a Zion sticker that was donated by Vagabond Heart Company. Mike makes awesome stickers and patches that coordinate with adventures. You can follow him on Instagram and order some stickers that remind you of your favorite places.

That evening we had our amazing photographer give us a workshop on Mindset. I found Arika through a hashtag on Instagram and fell in love with her photos. She specializes in Southern Utah photography and she is a genius with the camera. I felt like Arika and I clicked and were instant friends. She is an amazing photographer and an amazing human. I’m grateful we are now friends. You can follow Arika on Instagram and on her website. How incredible would it be to have her take your family photos?!

Arika taught us that our mindset effects each and every choice we make. When our mindset is negative we attract negative things into our lives. She challenged us to dig deep and see what stories we were telling ourselves. Were they positive or negative? Why do we tell our selves these particular stories? For example, the story that I have often told myself was that love was conditional. If I messed up people who I loved could withdraw their love from me and no longer care about me. That was simply not true. I’ve changed that story and uncovered why I told myself that and it has greatly impacted my day to day interactions with family and friends. What stories do you tell yourself? Are they true? Do they impact you?

On Saturday morning we woke up and drove through Zion National Park to begin our hike to Observation Point. Zion is breathtaking. Utah truly is spectacular!

Living our best life
7 beautiful miles
The view was spectacular. The best view in Zion!

After the hike we had some free time and each vehicle of women chose to do something a little different. Some women went out to eat, some did another hike, some went shopping, and some went back to the Airbnb and laid by the pool. All great choices. It was nice to have some flexibility.

At 5pm Bailey had our dinner ready for us. This time it was steak and pineapple kabobs with rice and an amazing Asian salad. Dessert was a cheesecake that she had woken up at 6am to start from scratch. We ate like queens thanks to Bailey. You can follow Bailey on Instagram and on her website. She posts many of her delicious recipes, like this Asian salad she made on the trip. It was heaven.

Later that evening several of us went on a short sunset hike near our Airbnb. It was gorgeous. We spent some time exploring the riverbed and living in the moment.

Sunset hike by the golf course. Unnamed hike that our photographer, who is a local, knew about

Life is worth living. You only have one and I hope you live it fully. Adventure helps us live in the moment and connect in nature. Be kind to yourself and live your best life.

Get out there girl!

--

--