GET to know us #17: Antonio

To give you a little insight into the GET Protocol team, we are introducing ourselves in a series of blogs. Read about what we do, both at work and in our personal lives, and why we believe GET Protocol is going to take over the world. Here’s number 17: Antonio.

Olivier Biggs
Open Ticketing Ecosystem
3 min readNov 22, 2018

--

What’s your name and job title?
Hi, I’m Antonio van der Weel, and I’m the Head of Product at GET / GUTS. I joined the team this month! After seeing the product and meeting the team, I was so impressed that I decided to make the switch. Previously I worked 6 years in product management roles, building international products and growing product teams (for example at Werkspot.nl).

What do you do here?
At GET I’m responsible for the product strategy, creating a clear product vision and constantly prioritizing product solutions to reach our business goals. I translate complex problems into product solutions and work closely with the developers and designers in the scrum teams to build these. Currently I’m doing a lot of UX wireframe sketches for our event organizer dashboard.

I love to work on solid, simple and well designed products. The designers and front-enders in our team have definitely created an amazing product so far. I especially like how my work here is focused on groundbreaking innovations, that I believe will change the industry.

What do you do when you are not at the office?
I’m quite into gaming, eating ramen, sword fighting and filmmaking. Too many things I love to do and too little time. Due to that vacations usually become ramen-eating-sword-fighting-film moments.

Where do you see GET protocol in three years?
My goal is to make GET the preferred ticketing solution for consumers, artists and event organizers. I expect us to be growing rapidly internationally via partners that use the GET protocol API, and having sold millions of tickets.

Our biggest challenge will be to handle all the growth coming in. I’ve seen many companies grow from 20 to 150 employees, and they often struggled to stay effective and fast at software development. At GET we are well aware of this challenge and have our ideas on how to keep organizing ourselves in effective ways.

Any personal message to the community?
I think it’s going to be extremely exciting times as we grow this revolution in ticketing internationally via an open API protocol. The awesome thing about this approach is that everyone in the community could play a role in the growth of our product through real world adoption. So if you are in touch with artists that hate scalpers or ticketing companies wanting to innovate, let them know about us!

Stay in touch

To easily stay up to date on the biggest developments, sign up for our mailing list below. We’ll send you important updates (only the important stuff, promise) straight to your inbox:

More about GET Protocol

Any questions or want to know more about what we do? Join our active Telegram community for any questions you might have, read our whitepaper, visit the website, join the discussion on the GET Protocol Reddit. Or get yourself a smart event ticket in our sandbox environment.

--

--