How Reading Daily Transformed Me Into a Better Writer

Tommy C
Heart & Hustle
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2023

--

When I started my writing journey on Medium three months ago, I was a blank slate — no experience writing anything outside of high school essays.

Photo by Super Snapper on Unsplash

I simply started writing daily, churning out piece after piece in hopes of improving through sheer repetition. This strategy proved helpful initially, establishing a regular writing habit and providing a space to learn the ropes.

But after a few weeks, I hit a wall. My skills plateaued as I continued writing in the same formulaic style I was accustomed to.

I needed inspiration to push my abilities forward.

Inspiration

That’s when I decided to dedicate time each day to reading the work of talented writers on Medium. Every afternoon, I carve out 30 minutes to indulge in 5–10 stories that pique my interest. This 30 minute reading break has proven invaluable.

As I immerse myself in the captivating narratives of experienced writers, I unconsciously internalize the cadence of their words, the eloquence of their descriptions, the compelling flow of their storytelling.

Their vivid depictions of people, places and emotions inspire my own attempts to paint scenes with words. Their seamless blending of dialogue and narration gives me ideas for improving…

--

--

Tommy C
Heart & Hustle

👋 Hi, I'm Tommy. Fitness fanatic, wellness advocate, and your guide to becoming the best you can be. 💪 Let's grow together!