Breathtaking Bali — Why Not Once But Twice

SNEAK
GET SNEAK
Published in
4 min readNov 22, 2018

Bali, Indonesia is definitely a place I’d love to visit again.

I went there with college friends back in 2013. At that time, all of us had just started working, so it was the perfect opportunity to reunite after a tough year of a salaryman’s routine. It’s not so far from Thailand where I’m from, and we had the chance to see and do almost everything that most people want to do in one trip, such as going to the beach, enjoying fresh air from the mountains, visiting beautiful lakes, strolling through a cute city, exploring local culture, and of course, indulging in good food.

The vibes in Bali are very tropical. Lots of tropical trees and vegetation as well as tropical style pagodas.

Saraswati Temple in Ubud is a beautiful Hindu temple that has a unique lotus pond which leads to the center of the temple, the temple is decorated with detailed sculptures and architectural elements.

The morning local market in Ubud. When I travel to new places as a foodie,
I always check out their local food market. The market was lively and full of merchants selling their wares, and I had a chance to witness the local cuisine vibes with my own eyes.

One fine day in Ubud, I walked past a group of local men practicing a religious ritual in front of the temple. I didn’t get a chance to ask what they were doing, but I could feel their vibes of happiness.

I would say that from all my experiences traveling to different places, Ubud is the most greenest cities I’ve ever seen. There are lots of trees, vegetation, rice fields and green spaces everywhere- even in the city. This might be the main reason I fell in love with Ubud.

Trees and trees everywhere!

I found this lovely place in the city of Ubud. Kou cuisine has a wide range of organic kitchens and household staples such as homemade jam, sea salt, honey, soap, and beautiful linen clothes and aprons. I brought a few home as souvenirs.

One of the unique things to try in Indonesia is Kopi Luwak, coffee that includes partially digested coffee beans that were eaten by civet, an Asian mammal. It sounds weird but it was amazingly good (and also expensive!)
We had the chance to see how they plant, collect, roast and make the coffee for us.

And, of course, the highlight of our coffee tasting tour was sipping a cup of local coffee with the stunning views of the rice fields and greenery of Bali!

As I mentioned earlier, you can find everything you want to see in Bali, even this breathtaking view of the cliff and the dancing waves of deep blue ocean. Love this description!

Something I always enjoy seeing when I travel are the local fashions!

I found this man eating his lunch in a temple, dressed in beautiful and clean local clothes. The Indonesian batik motif on his pants was so delicate.

One of the local meals that I had. So many fancy options!

The view of Mount Batur Volcano in Kintamani, Bali.

The sunset at lake Bratan, the most serene and beautiful moment of the trip.

If you want to explore more of Bali and my trip, one of my friends shot some footage and created this gorgeous video here.

Meet SNEAKERS:

Bibi is a food and design geek from Bangkok, Thailand. She is passionate about food, travel, lifestyle and culture, enjoys sipping a cup of Americano, and always dreams of diving into tropical islands in the summer and hitting the slopes during the winter.

Originally published at www.getsneak.com.

--

--

SNEAK
GET SNEAK

A visual-based trip planner where you can plan your trip with your favorite travel photos 🗺️ www.getsneak.com