How I Got My First Internship At Google (And How You Can Too)

Dasani Madipalli
Getchogrindup
Published in
7 min readJan 26, 2019

--

Getting that first internship can be a very intimidating, confusing, and frustrating process. Apart from the fact that you have to navigate the job search and application process for the first time, often times students don’t have a solidified support system, network, or mentors in place to help them with the process. This was definitely the case for me.

Girl bundled up for winter. Source: @dasani_decoded

My Story

When I was first starting out with my internship search, I didn’t know anyone like me who landed a successful internship. Everyone I knew who had landed an internship seemed to have connections in the industry and knew much more about technology than I did. Some students had experience working on technical projects and participated in hackathons.

On the other hand, I had just moved to the US right before the start of college. I was still figuring out pretty basic things like dressing for the winter, what I wanted to major in, and how to work a part-time job and manage school at the same time. I decided to major in computer science because I enjoyed working with data structures. And solving algorithmic problems was so fun that I would stay up late at night thinking about them. I didn’t really know much about technology itself because I actually grew up with minimal access to the internet for most of my life. Suffice it to…

--

--

Dasani Madipalli
Getchogrindup

☁️ Powered by doodles and dreams 👩🏿‍💻 M.Arch@ UVA & Ex-Microsoft Learn along with me!