Launching get.Africa, a weekly newsletter on African tech

Chiagoziem
get.Africa
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2020

Tomorrow is a big day for me. get.Africa, a weekly tech newsletter that I’ve been working on for months, will finally be released to the world. It’ll come out every Monday.

I feel a number of emotions — I’m excited to find another avenue to share my thoughts with readers and to receive feedback, I’m relieved that I’ll finally be able to write more about technology, a side of my work that I rarely share, but if I’m honest, I’m also terrified that the newsletter might not catch on the way I’d like it to.

All of these emotions fired me up to launch the get.Africa newsletter and it is these same emotions that will keep me going.

For those who aren’t familiar with my work, I am one of those people who’ve been blessed to do more than one thing for a living. Within tech, I am a solutions architect. For over a decade, I’ve worked with Africa’s leading service providers to empower governments and businesses across the continent to use technology to meet their strategic and/or business objectives.

Within the media space, I have worn several hats, from being the pioneer online editor of theNETng, to a senior writer at HipHopWorld magazine, a contributor at Guardian Nigeria and the founder of African-focused music websites: strictlynaijamusic.com and filterfree.ng.

Up until this point, I’d drawn a clear demarcation between my 2 careers: tech on one side, media on the other. I then deliberately pulled the 2 so far apart that it felt like I was Bruce Wayne sometimes, and Batman at others.

But in 2020, I made a big personal decision to marry the 2.

Henceforth, I’ll use Medium as a space to flesh out some of my thoughts about technology in Africa. Some of my articles will contain career advice, some will contain advice for businesses on how to optimize their tech spend, but regardless of the content, the focus will always be on the continent.

With get.Africa, readers can expect a newsletter that curates the African tech stories they should care about and provides analysis from someone who not only understands news reporting but has a front-row seat in the industry. My promise is to always deliver this newsletter to you in a language you’ll understand.

Come along with me on this journey. Subscribe to get.Africa and follow me on Medium so we can share ideas. You can also shoot me an email at info@get.Africa.

--

--

Chiagoziem
get.Africa

Solutions Architect | Subscribe to 📬 https://get.africa, my weekly newsletter on African tech