Equifam Spotlight: Andrew Ugbechie

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity
Published in
2 min readMar 31, 2022

Meet our Product Design Lead here at GetEquity. Popularly known as “Drew”.

How long have you been part of the Equifam and what’s your current role?

I don’t know to be honest. I was a contract designer for GetEquity sometime in late 2020 up until early 2021, conceptualizing, designing and maintaining GetEquity version 1.0, and then I joined the team full-time as Lead Product Designer in 2022. So you could say at least 16 months altogether, with gaps in between.

What does your job entail?

I design the product in summary. My job entails building designs for new GetEquity products and features, adding improvements to existing sub-products and conducting market research for new product design ideas for the team while collaborating with and overseeing other designers and projects. I also define product specifications with requirements from the product managers and constantly liaise with the developers.

What’s your day-to-day like?

I don’t think I have a very strict daily routine outside of work. Just work. That’s all I do most of the time. Then on some evenings, I go to the gym for some workout, and I play a good amount of table tennis in a week. It’s not much, but it’s honest work…innit?

What would you say motivates you to open slack everyday?

Lmaooo. Not sure I’m always motivated to open Slack. But I open Slack everyday because I always need/want to liaise with the team and know what’s going on. So it’s basically out of the sheer necessity of it, and not necessarily motivation.

Drew on a relaxing day

How has your career grown since joining GetEquity?

I’d like to approach this from a creative thinking angle, which is a subset of career growth. At GetEquity, we’re always building something entirely different, and more challenging. In some ways, it has forced me to approach problems from a different eye view. That’s growth too, I believe.

What is your favorite thing about working at GetEquity?

Mehn. It has to be the product itself for me. It’s how we’re redefining how startup investment works every single day at work. Yup, it’s the product, I find it interesting.
Apart from that, I like the little bants we throw around on Slack, as well as the holiday packages. Speaking of holiday packages, when is International Men’s Day please? Asking for a friend.

What’s something you’re planning on doing in the next year that you’ve never done?

Get married maybe? Lol.

Before we go, tell us a fun fact about you

I cannot swim to save my life.

--

--

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity

Product Marketing || Programs || Content || Communications