Equifam Spotlight: Gabriella Amaefule

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2022

Meet one of our backend engineers here at GetEquity — Gabriella.

How long have you been part of the Equifam and what’s your current role?

I have been part of getEquity for nearly a year now, I joined around November 2021 as a contract backend developer and joined full time around February 2022. My current role is Backend Engineer.

What does your job entail?

Well, my job entails maintaining the current codebase, adding new features to support business requirements, and reviewing pull requests from my peers, sometimes I also act as a customer support engineer and carry out minor devops activities.

What’s your day-to-day like?

Typically, my day starts with an hour of reading (I gotta stay sharp on what I do). So I spend my early mornings reading and learning new things, then I head to a workspace where I spend the majority of my day at. Then I check Jira for any new tickets that might have been assigned to me. I also have a lot of meetings with my colleagues where we brainstorm on a certain feature or try to fix something that came up.

What would you say motivates you to open slack everyday?

The opportunity to work on really cool features and to brainstorm on solution to bugs and blockers.

How has your career grown since joining GetEquity?

My career has grown tremendously since I have had the privilege of working with some really interesting engineers who have impacted the way I write code and solve problems. I have learned to write cleaner code, make better PR reviews, and pay attention to the tiniest detail

What is your favourite thing about working at GetEquity?

The problem we are solving is an interesting one and we are building a first of its kind solution, the people I interact with and learn from everyday, and the culture.

What’s something you’re planning on doing in the next year that you’ve never done?

Solo Travelling.

Before we go, tell us a fun fact about you.

I like partying (rarely have time tho), I can’t swim to save my life, my jollof rice cooking skills is unmatchable.

--

--

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity

Product Marketing || Programs || Content || Communications