Equifam Spotlight: Timi Omoyeni

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity
Published in
3 min readMay 31, 2022

Let’s meet another awesome member of the GetEquity Team — Timi also known as Timibadass 😁

How long have you been part of the Equifam and what’s your current role?

I’ve been here since April last year. First as a contract Frontend Engineer and then as the lead Frontend Engineer. The funniest/craziest thing about this journey is that I started/resumed a week before the first semester exams in my final year 😂😂

A week to your exams? How did that work?

Lmao, omo I had been reading during the semester and I knew how to plan my time/self. Whenever I wasn’t working, I was reading or eating. I also used my alarm and stopwatch a lot. Everything I did during that period was timed. I didn’t have time for any unnecessary chat or stuff. And funny enough, it was my best result up till that point, I guess I should have gotten a job sooner?

What does your job entail?

Usually, it involves translating designs to actual products that our users can use. Being the lead of my team means I need to ensure that my team is doing their job as required, try to help clear blockers when they appear, and meetings with the PMs to understand certain products, requirements, and timelines.

What’s your day-to-day like?

Well, my day to day currently involves me talking with the PMs on tasks, syncing with Drew and William, and then working on my tasks. I didn’t mention my teammate because he’s a top lad, and he doesn’t/rarely needs my help with issues because we always align.

What would you say motivates you to open slack every day?

Omo, I can’t even lie motivation no dey these days. But on a good day, the will/need to be better at my job, the opportunity to learn more about the space we’re building for, the amazing people at GE and of course, the fear of going broke.

How has your career grown since joining GetEquity?

Honestly yeah? It’s been very intense. No matter how many times you do it, there’s always that fear that comes with “let’s take this product live” even when you’re sure that the product is 100% good enough for our users. Working here has helped me develop more confidence. I’ve also had the opportunity to work with amazing people across different teams.

What is your favorite thing about working at GetEquity?

Top of the list for me has to be the people that make up the company. Last April made it a year since I joined the company and I wrote about it on medium, but I’ve refused to hit “publish” for everyone else to see 😂. Part of the things I wrote, was ‘the people of Getequity’. You cannot go for South Friday and not see someone from the office, or even your CEO inviting to his table/ensuring you have booze in your cup or something, Fun people = productive team.

What’s something you’re planning on doing in the next year that you’ve never done?

Omo, let me see… I want to travel, a lot too. I believe we as individuals see life from different perspectives, and have different ideologies of life because of the things we’ve been exposed to. Unless we get exposed to something different, we might keep such perspectives for the rest of our lives, so yeah...I want to travel to experience different things.

Before we go, tell us a fun fact about you

I used to rap, yes. In fact, I used to be in one group with Zlatan Ibile. There are still people that call me by my ‘rap name’ whenever I’m in Ikorodu. fun times in my opinion.😂😂

--

--

Tolu Olawumi
GetEquity

Product Marketing || Programs || Content || Communications