Creator Spotlight: Speaking with David, the spontaneous Product Manager who is simply the best.

Fidia
Fidia Blog
Published in
3 min readMar 7, 2023

If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be a product manager, look no further because I had the opportunity to interview the best of the best.

Ija, as he is fondly called, is an intellectually daring individual who is always eager to learn something new. From startup co-founder to astute product manager, this one’s sure to pique your interest.

Please enjoy!

Introduction

I am Ijaola David, but I prefer to be called Ija as there are too many Davids in this world already. I studied economics at the University of Lagos and I currently work at Fidia.
I like to build stuff with no-code tools like Fidia, I enjoy watching movies and I love music; I’m the kind of guy that can move from EDM to Fuji music.

A Brief Story Of How I Started

I got into tech in 2018 as a content marketer. I was working with a digital marketer that specialized in social media ads and SEO. I helped with blogs and keyword research.

I left marketing in 2018 and started a company in the events space called Udija with my friend and now teammate Udo. Our first customer was one of the clients I served as a digital marketer. In 2020, we discontinued the startup due to COVID’s impact on the event industry. As a startup co-founder, I learned how to code to build out the product. I also learned product design and did some stuff there but stopped in 2020 because I was burning out.

I decided to work at an actual tech company in August 2020. I got an internship at Helium Health as a product management Intern I wanted to work as a product designer but my supervisor advised me to chase product management because there was a need.
Since then I have managed the discovery and development of several products in Healthcare, Manufacturing, AI, SaaS, and education within and outside Africa, now I work at Fidia.

Favourite Thing About My Job

Being the source of alignment for my team and watching them work.
At Fidia, I just need to communicate a goal initiative and ensure everyone is clear. Once the team is clear, it is amazing to just watch them, ideas start springing up from everyone on the team.

Another thing I enjoy just as much is working with data, I just love to draft a hypothesis and see it play out as I thought with actual data. It’s quite funny because product managers are supposed to be more focused on invalidation.

Biggest Tip To Aspiring PMs.

Build something, turn a service, newsletter or engagement into a product and tell a story around that.
Also, network and connect with founders, HR and other product people.
A lot of PM jobs aren’t advertised.

Outside Product Management

Honestly, I like watching shows about drug dealers and people that run businesses. Shows like Queen of the south, and Silicon Valley keep me excited about my job.

My Favorite Fidia Feature

The website and bookings feature.
I use both to manage my newsletter; Iterate.
I set it up in minutes and now people can view more info about what the newsletter does.

--

--

Fidia
Fidia Blog

10x your business income online: create sites, link-in-bios, shops, sales page, portfolios & more—without writing code.