After almost a year of DDP Yoga, I’ve hit a roadblock

I’ve dropped more than 65 lbs over the past 9 months, but after multiple cycles through the program, I’ve reached an impasse.

Darreck W. Kirby
getHealthy

--

NOTE: This story was revised in February 2023.

Although I’d started and stopped the DDP Yoga program a couple different times in the past, I’d never made it more than five weeks without falling off completely. Until, that is, February of 2021.

Photos of the author. Yes, it’s the same person.

On my third attempt at the DDP Yoga program, I finally got it to “stick.” I was overweight with a bad back and desperate to believe in myself again. I couldn’t remain neglectful of my health and wellbeing if I wanted to change the way I viewed myself.

To make sure this time was finally the time, I dove headfirst into the program and its supporting materials. I read Positive Unstoppable: The Art of Owning It, written by pro wrestling Hall of Famer and the creator of DDP Yoga, Diamond Dallas Page. I watched The Resurrection of Jake the Snake and Relentless. I dug deep to…

--

--

Darreck W. Kirby
getHealthy

Professional writer and fitness enthusiast. Also, an overly ambitious creative who likes to write about creativity, mental health, self-development, and more.