I felt like 💩 in 2016 and What I’m Going To Do About It.

Wayne Sutton
getHealthy
Published in
3 min readJan 3, 2017

--

I stood on the scale today. My body said it’s time. My mind said stop avoiding it. I was nervous, but I couldn’t avoid it anymore. I physically fill like 💩.. I’m at my heaviest weight in six years. 2016 got me!

I never felt like I had a good grasp on 2016. I was always on the go. Event, after event after event. The feeling of uncertainty and constant change. I was stressed. I got out of my routine. My weight is now in the 200lbs. I started off 2016, not in the best shaped but better than 2017. I weighed 184lb in January 2016. It was all uphill from there. The good news is I’ve been here before.

In 2013 I changed my eating habits. I ate mostly baked chicken and broccoli for lunch and dinner. For breakfast, I ate eggs and turkey bacon. I snacked on Greek yogurt and cheese. At my lowest weight, I reached 172lbs in early 2014. I worked out everyday and ran. At my peek I could run seven miles without a break. I trained using a version of the 5×5 workout plan. I felt great. I felt confident and was ready to #Changetheworld in 2014.

In 2016 I learned that I’m lactose intolerant. I also learned that my body doesn’t process almonds well either. Add that to the list of foods I need to avoid but love like chocolate. My list of foods and snacks that I enjoy are limited.

Like I said, I’ve been here before. I know what to do. Going into 2017 we’re planning more events. But I’m ready. To accomplish my goals, I need to be fit, healthy and confident. I’m not making a resolution; I’m making a lifestyle change. That’s a promise.

My Plan Step 1: Just do it. Start working out. Step 2: Set a bedtime. Get a minimum of 7hrs sleep a day Step 3: Do an extreme challenge for quick results for motivation ( 4 days of liquids only starting Tuesday) Step 4: Start back doing my 8min yoga/stretching in the morning Step 5: Count my calories using lose it app. Step 6: Eat healthily

Step 7: Repeat

I worked out today.

Wayne Sutton writes on entrepreneurship, startups, and diversity and inclusion in tech at SocialWayne.com and is a co-founder at Change Catalyst and Tech Inclusion.You follow Wayne on Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn.

For the best articles on entrepreneurship, diversity and inclusion in tech, startups, and innovation sign up for TheAccess newsletter.

☞ Please tap or click “♥︎” to help to recommend this article to others.

Originally published at socialwayne.com on January 2, 2017.

--

--

Wayne Sutton
getHealthy

Head of Community and Events at Convex.dev / 🏍 motorcycle Adv rider & photographer