The story behind Get Mama Out

Get Mama Out
GetMamaOut
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2018
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

I thought it’s only polite to introduce myself before I start blathering on giving opinions left right and centre, well what the heck is Get Mama Out?

I’m a Brentwood mama of two little terror’s, Phoebe 3 going on 13 and the newest addition to the chaos Max who will be turning one in June 💔.

Up until recently I was finishing up my maternity leave returning to work, nursery all lined up and I was cruising towards drinking a hot coffee and reading magazines from cover to cover. One itty bitty snag to this well thought out plan was redundancy. I wasn’t expecting that!

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

With all my plans smashed my next task is to work out what’s next. Alongside this small, tiny task the challenge interrupting the little sleep I do get is the increasing worry of having to entertain two energetic children over the summer holidays.

6 whole weeks just my daughter, who would give the Artful Dodger a run for his money, and my little man who whilst dodging Phoebe’s ‘cuddles’ Hulk Hogan would be proud of refuses sleep in any form. Both look cute, adorable even, but 6 whole weeks of trying to keep up without a plan of defence is madness.

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

I did as every 21st century mum would I hit the internet looking for ideas and came up with nada. I could find little ideas here or there but nothing in one place to fit my time poor lazy ass sensibilities. As I couldn’t find a site I could hit in panic with the thought - what the hell do I do today? - I thought ‘heck I’ll create my own’.

In creating Get Mama Out my mission is to find lots of great activities and places to go to make summer fun for kids AND parents combined. Hopefully Get Mama Out will be a haven for panicked last minute mums like me who are just looking for ideas to make their kids happy. A happy child = a happy parent!

Overall this page is a motivation to #getmamaout

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

So what should you expect? I’ll be sharing a variety of ideas around:

  • Great days out in the Brentwood area, I’ll occasionally travel further afield to mix it up
  • Events on your doorstep
  • What if it rains? I’ll also be sharing activities to stop you climbing the walls if rain happens
  • Advice from amazing mums: parenting experts are great but I’m interested in hearing how other mums tackle the challenges of parenting

Join me as I explore and uncover activities to entertain and exhaust my two across the local area and beyond. I promise to share unbiased thoughts as I go and I’m keen to hear your views on what helps keep the summer stress free.

As well as this place I’m also up and running on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. Follow along this journey and join in the hunt for the best places, just tag me or #getmamaout so I can share the love! ☀️👧👶🌈🍦✌⚡️😘❤️

--

--

Get Mama Out
GetMamaOut

Brentwood Mama ⚡️ on a mission to uncover amazing local kid friendly activities to ensure sanity prevails over the summer #getmamaout ☀️👧👶🌈