Orange almond butter cake and disabled Black Girl Magic

Alexander Hardy
getsomejoy
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2021
Photo of an orange almond butter cake on a plate with powdered sugar sprinkled on top and one slice cut. A white teacup on a floral saucer in the background, with sliced oranges decorating the table. (Image credit: Immaculate Bites)

Welcome to installment #42 of GetSomeJoy’s Daily Breakfast Situation, your morning weekday with recipes, joy-flavored stories, and wellness tools.

We’re in the home stretch of Breakfast Cake Week and we’re turning to an old, faithful friend: citrus.

While lemon often gets top billing out in these culinary streets, I tend to prefer lime and orange when zesting, juicing, and most scenarios calling for citrus juice. Or, I’ll use a combination of all three if I’m feeling freaky-deaky.

Lemon meringue is cute, but orange meringue pie?

My first orange meringue. (Image credit: AlexGottaEat Instagram)

For two-and-a-half glorious days, it was the wind beneath my wings. I grew up anticipating a lemon meringue pie from my grandmother on my birthday, but that first bite of orange meringue unlocked desires and Mario Kart power-ups in my brain that I didn’t know existed. I moaned.

It showed me that pies can be a distraction from being suicidal.

“I would have missed this fucking pie!” -Me, to a friend on my life-saving FOMO

Anyhow, this orange almond butter cake by Immaculate Bites speaks to me on a spiritual level.

Photo of a slice of orange almond butter cake dusted, with powdered sugar, next to a fork on a small white plate that sits on a folded white cloth napkin. In the background, sliced oranges and a second slice of cake. (Image credit: Immaculate Bites)

It’s the kind of light, buttery, citrusy temptation you bust down by yourself, one husky slice at a time, during weekend hiberprocastination.

There’s even an orange curd to drizzle on top because joy is your birthright.

Today’s runner-up: this giant cinnamon roll cake by Sally’s Baking Addiction

A few things to moisturize your spirit:

  • Good day to Shanice, Will Lemay, the sign language choreography, the pre-Y2K fashions, and the dance break in the “When I Close My Eyes” video.
  • Watch what happens when two fashion designers turn a four-year old’s drawing to life.
  • Yoga instructor Jessamyn Stanley offered this 10-minute guided meditation to help you get your woosah on.
  • I grabbed my chest and said, “WHOO, SHIT!” when I saw these pumpkin dinner rolls and that beautiful whipped cranberry butter from Chocolate for Basil.
Photo of a dozen orange-hued pumpkin dinner rolls on parchment paper next to a small bowl of whipped raspberry butter. A black hand holds one roll, sliced with butter inside. (Image credit: Chocolate for Basil)

Join Winifred A. Winston and LeDerick Horne with Nikki Francis for another Bad Azz Parent segment. Nikki discusses her journey advocating for her daughter in Maryland public schools and as well as in North Carolina. She shares how instrumental her daughter’s self awareness was in her decision to leave the traditional public school system and decide to homeschool her daughter, more specifically join a Co-op.

Listen to Black and Dyslexic wherever you do your podcasting.

See you tomorrow.

--

--

Alexander Hardy
getsomejoy

Grits-powered writer, home chef, & mental health warrior. Founder: GetSomeJoy + The War on Spiritual Ashiness. getsomejoy.com + thealexanderhardy.com