Spiced sweet potato biscuits and embracing love, intimacy, and queerness after abuse

Alexander Hardy
getsomejoy
Published in
4 min readNov 19, 2021
Isn’t she lovely? Sweet potato biscuits by Grandbaby Cakes

Welcome to installment #52 of GetSomeJoy’s Daily Breakfast Situation, your weekday check-in with recipes, joy-flavored stories, and wellness tools.

Sweet Potato Week continues to stretch my concept of breakfast and reimagine how I prepare and enjoy my favorite foods.

Yesterday reminded me how integral sweet potato is to the autumn experience. The meringue on Butter Be Ready’s pie gave me hope for a brighter future.

Revisiting these sweet potato chocolate muffins, I wondered, “What type of frosting would be best for this in cake form?”

…and I decided that someone is getting a pan of sweet potato cinnamon rolls as a gift this year. Mmmhm.

But on today, a sweet potato biscuits recipe by Grandbaby Cakes that made me ask myself if every breakfast I’ve had until now has been a lie.

Delicious sweet potato biscuits by Grandbaby Cakes

Where have you been all my life?

I have all of the ingredients to let my soul glow and might could whip these up and bust them the fuck down tomorrow.

Standby.

A few things to moisturize your spirit:

  • Good morning to Dawn Richard and her wonderful dancers.
Christopher Burch (Photo by Donna Burch)

This week, artist Christopher Burch unveiled a seven-story mural overlooking San Francisco’s Tenderloin District.

This piece is a Black person as the universe, but from the position of the universe being like a sitter in a portrait. It’s the silhouette form of a Black person, but inside you see the cosmos.

via East Bay Express

He took my ability to trust another man with my body. Along with all those other men whose hands found ways to forbidden territories, he took my ability to associate men with anything but plunder and greed and danger and pain.

Okay. Take a deep breath.

Sweet potato and black bean nachos by My Forking Life
  • And now, a word from Vena Moore on not having to earn worthiness:

The negative side to the Black excellence rhetoric is that Black people are expected to be perfect all the time.

  • On this episode of Dr. Thema’s The Homecoming Podcast, “Dr. Thema describes the importance of meaning and purposeful living. She then provides specific tips for living with more meaning as you journey home to your authentic self.”

Listen to, rate, and share The Homecoming Podcast on your preferred podcasting app or platform.

See you tomorrow.

--

--

Alexander Hardy
getsomejoy

Grits-powered writer, home chef, & mental health warrior. Founder: GetSomeJoy + The War on Spiritual Ashiness. getsomejoy.com + thealexanderhardy.com