How pure frustration started our new baby

Holly Stephens
Subly
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2019

I love to produce content to help others with their startup but I hate to write. It just doesn’t come naturally to me. However, I’ll admit it, I love being on camera, telling my story and (I hope) I’m at least a little bit engaging.

Last year I filmed many videos over on my YouTube channel and Linkedin. I loved it and LOVED that people found value in the content I was providing. Just like you, I saw people on LinkedIn and Instagram adding subtitles onto videos.

I found these videos more engaging, I didn’t need to put my headphones in, and I could just read the information they provided through subtitles.

So I tried it for myself…

MY OH MY this is what I went through and I can honestly say it took me 8 hours each time to do this due to terrible internet in Aus :) Sorry NBN, you just don’t cut it.

  1. Filmed a video on my phone, with a microphone nothing fancy. 30min video usually.
  2. Searched online for a translation company. I used Freelancer, Upwork, Rev, then I trialled and tested these.
  3. I then found an issue in the translation. It can’t be edited so I had to send it back. No thanks mate. I want to be able to edit it myself.
  4. Luckily I did find an online service that does this through AI. Thank goodness.
  5. Ok, so now I had the text SRT file.
  6. I now realised that the SRT file needs to be ‘burned’ onto the video so the text comes up at the same time as when I’m speaking on camera.
  7. The process of merging the text to video happens.
  8. I then had to re-download the video.
  9. Chop the video as I wanted through ANOTHER program.
  10. Oh good. Now I can finally upload to any channel and the text is there on screen. PHEWWWW.

In total, for this process…

  1. I spent $30 for a 30min video.
  2. Wasted a ridiculous amount of time.
  3. Used 5 different platforms.
  4. Downloaded and re-uploaded my video a silly amount of times.
  5. Though I do think I had more views through adding closed captions! There is a silver lining!

I’m not letting someone else go through this.

This is what I wanted to do…

Upload my video, get this transcribed in a jiffy, closed captioning added to the video and ready for upload to any channel I can shake my selfie stick at.

And that’s what you get with Take 1. Our baby is popping out very soon. Don’t miss the big day. Sign-up here.

And if you want to share the love, head on over to our social channels.

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

--

--

Holly Stephens
Subly
Writer for

Female Founder | Women in Blockchain | Speaker & Host | Entrepreneur | Winner of Smart 30 under 30 & Community Startup.