7 Chess Books you can actually Read! by Blaze Veljovski

Blaze Veljovski
Getting Into Chess
Published in
5 min readJul 19, 2022

--

The best chess books to buy may not be the ones that you think.

Photo by Regis Wa on Unsplash

You might buy a lot of chess books, read the first few pages, then say “The hell with this!” Don’t let your chess collection collect dust on your bookshelf. Read these books instead.

This is the very first chess book I read when returning from chess as an adult. It helped me to improve my rating from a meager 500–600 range, to an average 1500 tournament player.

  1. The Amateur’s Mind by IM Jeremy Silman
Photo by Blaze Veljovski

I read this cover to cover, including the puzzles at the end of the book. It was very helpful.

2. How To Reassess Your Chess 4th Edition by IM Jeremy Silman

Photo by Blaze Veljovski

Another great book. A lot of prose, white space, easy to read. Humor is interspersed throughout the book. Or at least what Silman thought might be funny at the time. I read this book, but it did take awhile. You may wish to read The Amateur’s Mind first, before climbing this…

--

--

Blaze Veljovski
Getting Into Chess

Writing the stories AI can't replicate. I write poetry and short stories. Some are humorous. I run, write, and play chess.