Puzzles | Improvement

Absolutely the Best Chess Puzzle Platform

Review: ChessPuzzle.net

kit_carmelite
Getting Into Chess
Published in
8 min readSep 3, 2022

--

Used with permission from site owner

When I was listening to episode 57 of Chess Journeys: Tales of Adult Improvement, the guest recommended solving many puzzles with a similar focus to build pattern-recognition. I’m a low-rated player so most puzzles are too difficult for me, because I’ve no idea what I’m supposed to look for. I found a treasure in ChessPuzzle.net created by Martin Bennedik.

It’s a website, not a mobile app but I have no trouble with it on my tablet despite my vision impairment. He provides clear explanations in his blog posts which often include videos.

When you register, you see the “Thank you for registering” page. When you click the “Start Playing” button, the homepage appears. Below the video that explains the modes of play, there is a daily puzzle and a link to the other parts of the site.

Filter mode

The Filter mode allows you to select very specific types of puzzles. Start by choosing a level of difficulty. The two…

--

--

kit_carmelite
Getting Into Chess

Married 25 years. Retired SAS programmer from Statistics Canada. Member of Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites since 2008. Love chess..