Book notes: ‘We Are Anonymous’ by Parmy Olson

Inside the Hacker World of LulzSec, Anonymous, and the Global Cyber Insurgency

Xavier Briand
My journey into Cybersecurity
2 min readMar 19, 2019

--

Author

I (Parmy Olson) cover developments in AI, robotics, chatbots, digital assistants and emerging tech in Europe. I’ve spent close to a decade profiling the hackers and dreamers who are bringing the most cutting-edge technology into our lives, for better or worse. I’m the author of “We Are Anonymous: Inside the Hacker World of LulzSec, Anonymous and the Global Cyber Insurgency”, (Little Brown, 2012) which The New York Times called a “lively, startling book that reads as ‘The Social Network’ for group hackers.” Having worked out of Silicon Valley I’m now based in London and am obsessing over developments in AI, artificial voice technology, chat bots, messaging and robotics. I’ve written several cover stories for Forbes magazine including profiles on the founders of WhatsApp and Yahoo, and the Russian Facebook backer Yuri Milner. Before all this I cut my teeth in local radio and the BBC.
Forbes

Reviews

Resources

--

--

Xavier Briand
My journey into Cybersecurity

Design & manage software, services, roles, organisations, cultures, games, and my garden.