Organization, Part 5: Recap

Nile Williams
Getting Organized
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2017

Since I started scheduling my day and actively managing my time, I noticed that I am a bit less stressed about school. Before tis project, I would receive assignments and then get them done when I remembered to do them. Of course I would get the work done eventually, but it would be inefficient. Now, with my scheduling, of course the work can be overwhelming, but I am far more dynamic when it’s time to do work. For example this week I’ve been following the schedules I make for myself. I was able to finish my accounting homework for the week on Tuesday, study for a Spanish test (which I got a 96 on) and still had time to do assignments for this class, as well as study for a statistics test next week. I did this all while having enough time to go to club soccer practice twice, equity research club, and an info session with Goldman Sachs.

This is just a taste of the type of lifestyle I hope to be living if I ever make it in the financial industry on Wall Street. When working there you have to manage your time so precisely, because working in such a high-stress environment without a plan will lead to failure and eventually, termination at your position. One classmate’s blog, Nathan Burruano, talks about the relevance of time management in a financial setting. In his post on September 21st, he says:

“Wall Street workers come into the office and trading floors fully prepared to take on the day. They know exactly what they are going to do a set time and organize their tasks and responsibilities even if they are miniscule tasks. Those in the finance sector and on Wall Street are not the type of individual who procrastinate and waste time. This is an industry that doesn’t sleep and the workload can bury a person without the proper skillset.”

This is exactly the type of point I’m trying to make. When you come into a job as hectic as one on wall street, there is no time to be disorganized. Nathan goes on to talk about how he goes about trying to manage his time better, through things like drafting plans, outlining his day, and stating his priorities. All these are extremely important when trying to make a customized plan for yourself. I think Nathtan’s publication about time management is worth a read if you have time, because it’s basically the same things discussed here; organizing your schedule for the most efficiency possible.

Link: https://medium.com/time-management-skills-in-the-financial-sector

--

--