Organization, Part 6: Next Steps

Nile Williams
Getting Organized
Published in
2 min readOct 1, 2017

I am coming to the end of this organizational experiment. For the past week and a half, I have written my daily schedule out the day before, and planned to dedicate time to certain activities. At the end of this, I see why it is important to manage your time and be organized, but I think that the extent of organization you can have is limited when you’re a college student. Often times, the night before, I will write out my schedule. But the next day, so many things happen that I can’t anticipate, (such as losing my keys and ID, or a pop Spanish quiz, or an accounting homework due the next day) and it ends up ruining my schedule. As I said before, the schedule has to be open to adjustments, but at the same time, life outside of college won’t have this many last minute adjustments.

This being said, I did enjoy keeping a schedule these past two weeks. When I didn’t have adjustments to make, it was calming to just cross things off my list as I got them done. This past week for example, I listed everything that needed to get done between Monday and Friday, and by Wednesday, I was finished with most of my work. It just goes to show that scheduling (when there aren’t too many adjustments) is an important part of growth and becoming an adult.

Even though the assignment is now finished, and I technically don’t have to post here anymore, I will still continue my work with becoming more organized. I spoke mainly about the time management aspect of organization here, but there are still other ways my life is unorganized (my room, my future plans.. etc.) and I need to sort it out. So, until then. Thanks for reading.

-Nile

--

--