Organization, Step One: Time Management

Nile Williams
Getting Organized
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2017

A crucial part of organizing your life is organizing your time. Nothing in life will get done if you don’t first properly partition your time. To do this, I went to UB’s bookstore and bought myself a daily planner. I’ve never truly kept a planner for myself, so I researched how to do it effectively. I found a surprising article from alltopsartups.com that talked about the methods Warren Buffett, one of the most successful business men ever, takes to keep his life organized. What I found turned out to be very surprising. First of all, he does not like to keep his schedule very full at all. Secondly, he dedicates 80% of his day to educating about his craft, which is usually in the form of reading. Although this sounds like pretty straightforward advice, it makes me reflect on if I’m doing enough to put myself in a position where I can do what I want. Buffet says that 80% of his day consists of reading from various publications. At work he largely reads financial statements, journals, and other business reports. At home, he reads Forbes, The Wall Street Journal, and other notable publications.
Knowing this makes me think about what types of things I will put in my schedule. Although I would like to keep a schedule like Buffett, where I can spend most of my time reading, it’s simply not possible at the moment. I need to include time to go to class, do schoolwork, study, participate in club activities, and set aside time to apply for internships. But, reading this article made me realize to be truly great at something, it requires you to dedicate a huge amount of your time to it, and I will keep that in consideration when organizing my daily planner.

The planner I bought today

Citation

Oppong, Thomas. (2014, July 9) “This Is The Daily Routine of Warren Buffett”. Retrieved from http://alltopstartups.com/2014/07/09/daily-routine-of-warren-buffett/

--

--