Organization, Step Two: Implementation

Nile Williams
Getting Organized
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2017

Today, I started officially organizing my daily planner. I first started by assessing what needed to get done this week, but I decided to just write my schedule day by day. This is because if I complete more than I anticipated, then my next day’s schedule is subject to change. I believe that this is the best method of organizing your time. As I said in my earlier blog post, i is not good to keep your schedule rigid, because a lack of flexibility can lead to time being wasted. For example, today is my study day in my schedule. I was supposed to complete my statistics, then accounting homework, and then write my blog post. I chose to deviate from this a little though. I didn’t do amazing on my first attempt on my statistics quiz, so I decided that I would come back later to do my second attempt. Then, I went to do my accounting homework, but decided against it because I wasn’t in a quiet place where I could focus on reading. Because of this, I am now writing my blog post, and I’m more comfortable with that. The flexibility in my schedule allowed me to work on what was easier first, to build up my momentum for the more difficult things. I would’ve stuck to my original schedule, I would’e completed my work, sure, but I’m certain it would’ve taken me far longer, as I would be less efficient. This mentality is illustrated Maggie Farrell’s scholarly article, “Time Management.” In this piece, Farrell states

Once a leader has an overview on how time is being used, then adjustments can be made to be more effective in managing time. This may require breaking patterns and setting forth expectations such as unscheduled meetings are not possible on certain days.”

This applies to my situation because in order for me to be more effective with my time management, I had to break the patterns I originally set forth for myself. As I continue this process of schedule making, I’ll always keep in mind that it is important to deviate when your schedule is lacking in efficiency.

Citation: Farrell, Maggie. (2017, April 07). Time Management. Retrieved from: http://www.tandfonline.com.gate.lib.buffalo.edu/doi/full/10.1080/01930826.2017.1281666

Picture of Schedule:

Objectives for Sunday
Objectives for Monday

--

--