6 Books on Being a Product Leader

How to lead your teams towards product success, without killing yourself in the process

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product

--

When writing this post I went back over my LinkedIn profile and I can go back well over twenty years to a time when I didn’t have the words “Manager”, “Head of” or “Director” in my job title.

My first managerial role was when running a cinema, thrown in, fresh faced from university to run a multi-screen cinema with a team of twenty-five. It wasn’t product management, but I needed to lead the team to deliver the experience that our customers wanted on their enjoyable evening out.

As time has progressed, the output has changed and I’m no longer providing popcorn and fun, and instead I’m making the lives easier for hundreds of people who operate one of the world’s largest luxury watch retailers.

It’s taken me many, many years to get here, and if I’d had some of these books twenty years ago, then maybe I’d have made less mistakes along the way.

How to Lead in Product Management: Practices to Align Stakeholders, Guide Development Teams, and Create Value Together

Roman Pichler

--

--

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product

Helping people kick start their product management career with product coaching, job application prep, & resources at gettingstartedinproduct.substack.com