Head of Product — Alfonso Fiore

Stories of getting started in product management

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product
2 min readDec 23, 2020

--

As part of our Getting Started in Product series, we look at some people who have already made the transition into a product role and ask them all about how they got started.

What’s your current role?

I’m the Head of Products at AirAsia, the world’s best low-cost airline.

Update: Since this story was written Alfonso has moved on from AirAsia to become Chief Product Officer at HappyFresh

What did you do before you got into Product Management?

I was a presales engineer within an international Telecom vendor

How did you get your first product role?

I was undertaking an MBA and as part of my course I had a product management internship, and my first role came out of that.

What was your biggest challenge when you started in product management?

I started when I was much older (30+) so I was a weird mix of senior and junior.

Initially nobody explained to me how to write user stories or run a standup or run any other agile meetings, so I…

--

--

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product

Helping people kick start their product management career with product coaching, job application prep, & resources at gettingstartedinproduct.substack.com