How to design your perfect work life

Ways to get the career you deserve

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product
5 min readMay 25, 2021

--

When my Dad was sixteen years old he joined the engineering team in a frozen food factory and thirty years later, he was still working in a frozen food factory, but by this time he was managing the factory.

Thirty years of working for the same company, albeit within a number of different roles. That was the expectation of work in the twentieth century. Find a job for life.

It is however not the story of life in the twenty-first century, where the nature of work is changing, as is our approach to it.

We have global opportunities, we want a balance between our work and non-work lives, and we want to receive some sense of purpose from the roles we perform.

For me, I am on my third different ‘career’, and with my thirteenth different employer, all within the time it took my father to move up the ladder within his organization.

I want to work more flexibly, I want to be able to see more of my children, and I want to feel good about what I achieve when ‘heading off to work’.

And I am not alone.

This approach is more the norm now, which means as individuals we need to be more actively involved in our careers than anyone in history has ever been.

Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

--

--

Robert Drury
Getting Started in Product

Helping people kick start their product management career with product coaching, job application prep, & resources at gettingstartedinproduct.substack.com