Are You An Overly Tech CEO?

Rob Leon
#GETYOURTECHRIGHT
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2018

Yesterday I met with a CEO that embraces the concept of getting his tech right.

But there’s a catch.

You see, this CEO insists on doing all of the tech himself.

He’s an owner of a small firm.

He makes good money.

Which led me to ask…

Why do you do your own tech?

His answer was.

I like doing it.

It’s what I do in my spare time.

To which I asked.

What about other things like hobbies or spending time with your family?

He answered.

It’s not a problem.

I don’t mind doing my own tech.

And then he proceeded to share is how he manages and maintains his tech.

It’s a very manual process.

Mainly because he’s doesn’t have actual IT experience.

But it works for him.

He admits he’s a bit of a control freak.

There’s are many lessons we could cover here.

There’s the concept of opportunity cost.

There’s the concept of the concept of letting go.

There’s the concept of delegating.

And last but not least there’s the concept of highest and best use.

I’m not saying this CEO doesn’t do some of these things as part of his role.

It just seemed a little strange that someone who’s considered successful in his industry would spend his time on something as mundane as personally maintaining all of the computers in his business.

Getting your tech right is about understanding the tech in your business.

It’s about knowing how to leverage technology to help grow your business.

I’m still puzzled as to why this CEO insists on doing all of the tech work himself.

I’m still wondering.

Maybe you know?

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate a few 👏’s.
It would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

Say Hello On
Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn

--

--