Just Tell Me What You Want Me To Do

Rob Leon
#GETYOURTECHRIGHT
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2017

Just tell me what you want me to do.

It’s the most disheartening phrase any person can tell you.

To me this means…

I give up.
I have no input.
And worst of all I don’t care.

As a leader, if you hear these words you’re in trouble.

You’re doing something wrong.

Now there are certain times when this phrase is totally acceptable but that’s not what I’m talking about.

It’s that frustrated person on your staff.
It’s that person that feels like they have no control over anything.
It’s that person who has given up.
Very likely it’s a person you have given up on as well.

All-around this is it this isn’t a good situation.

In the tech world the attitude of just tell me what to do is very common.

It’s like a virus that spreads quickly.

You see this in candidates when they apply.

You see it in their attitude and lack of enthusiasm towards obtaining a new role.

At times you may even see this with your staff when they’re disengaged and feeling like outsiders.

When you see this behavior it’s important to focus on yourself — and focus on the individual.

Find out where the disconnect is.

Work to see if the situation is salvageable.

The change needed may very well be you and your behavior.

So be honest with yourself and make that change.

I like to work at a happy place.
A place where everyone gets along.
A place where everyone participates.

Creating and sustaining a positive work environment goes along way towards building and maintaining a healthy culture.

One where the phrase just tell me what to do is not the norm.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate a few 👏’s.
It would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

Say Hello On
Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn

--

--