Lenovo Yoga 910 First Impressions

Rob Leon
#GETYOURTECHRIGHT
Published in
3 min readSep 28, 2017

So I got a new Lenovo Yoga 910 yesterday and I’m in the process of getting it dialed in.

I wanted to give a first impression review since things are still fresh in my mind.

Before we get into likes and dislikes I wanted to share with my intended use case.

I was hoping to consolidate all of my home and business computing needs. Which means replace my iPad and work PC. All tall order indeed, but I figured what the heck, let’s give this a try. After an initial look at the Microsoft Surface platform I thought I might be able to pull it off at least in part. So here we are.

In case you’re not familiar with the Lenovo Yoga it’s comparable to the Microsoft Surface and was f.r.e.e.

There are two main items to consider when looking at any Windows tablet type platform.

  • The platform
  • The OS/Apps

Here’s what I like about it.

I like that the Yoga 910 is light.
I like the screen, although it feels a little small.
I like the built in camera. It’s sharp.

That’s it. No, really, I’m not that kind of tech reviewer.

Now for the dislikes.

I don’t like that when you flip it over the keys are now on your desk or lap. I know they’re disabled but it’s kind of meh.
I don’t like that you can’t press Alt+F4 to shut the thing down. You have to push a combination of Func+Alt+F4 turn off the unit. Yes, I know I could just hibernate the thing.

And my least and biggest dislike of all is that the iPad apps that I need are not on the Microsoft Store.

Now I probably should’ve checked that before I got the laptop but hindsight is 20/20 and laptop was a gift and beggars can’t be choosers.

So if you get one tech tip out of this I would say — always check the App Store for the apps you need before you jump onto a new platform.

At the end of the day it’s a really nice laptop. It’s light. It’s super fast. And it’s portable. If you’re looking for a light laptop to travel with around with all day I’d say it’s as good or better than a Microsoft Surface laptop.

If you’re looking to handle all of your tasks on one device and displace an iPad or Android device you’re going to come up really short.

So will I be using it much?

Who knows, it’s only been one day.

Only time will tell.

I have a heavy reliance on the iPad for all things social and love it’s portability.

Just in case you’re wondering I did compare this to a Macbook before writing this article and I suffered the same AppStore fate.

I’m a big fan of the iOS and Android apps and tools.

They’re simple to use and typically very intuitive.

Jumping over to a full blown operating system you lose the fluidity and simplicity of a mobile platform.

So at the end of that day Mr. Yoga will have to get along with my new iPhone 8s.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate a few 👏’s.
It would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

Say Hello On
Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn

--

--