My Moving Plan Almost Worked

Rob Leon
#GETYOURTECHRIGHT
Published in
2 min readMay 9, 2018

Last weekend my wife and I moved to a new place.

We’d been at our old place for years and decided it was time for a change and an upgrade.

We did our research, selected a new location…

And then the planning started.

Everything was mapped out and planned in advance.

I help companies move to new locations all the time.

So planning a home move should be a walk in the park.

Shouldn’t it?

I opened up Google Sheets and laid out a well-thought-out project plan.

I followed the plan to a T.

Everything was categorized, organized, packed and ready to go.

Moving day came and again everything went according to plan.

I even left some buffer time to pick up those last loose items that never seem to find a box.

Finally everything was in the new place — everything in order.

Wait!

Everything was not in order.

What happened?

Outside of getting everything to the new place, address changed, utilities moved, etc.

I left one piece out.

And that was…

Putting things back where they go.

You see, I had mapped out where everything would go in the new place.

It’s just that when we moved in we put everything in the dining room.

It’s a big dining room.

And we don’t have that much stuff.

And so there we were sitting with a dining room full of boxes.

It was break time anyway so we went to dinner.

It’s going to take a few days to get everything to where it needs to be.

Sometimes things go according to plan.

And in this case — everything went according to plan.

The problem was I didn’t have a final phase on my plan.

The put things away phase.

I was okay with just finishing things up once I got there.

Isn’t this how everyone does a move?

Obviously the bedroom stuff went in the bedroom and the kitchen stuff went in the kitchen.

But all that other stuff didn’t find a home.

Sometimes it’s that last 5% that makes a difference.

And sometimes it’s that last 5% that’s left for you and your partner to figure out over the next couple of days.

95% is still an “A” grade isn’t it?

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article, I’d appreciate a few 👏’s.
It would mean a lot to me and it helps other people see the story.

Say Hello On
Instagram | Twitter | LinkedIn

--

--