Mika279: From Hospital Bed to Pro Esports Player

Žan Zupančič
GewdGame
Published in
5 min readNov 20, 2018

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade — or, start streaming and share your lemons with the world! We talked to Mika279, a streamer and competitive player who has achieved what most gamers dream of: playing video games for a living.

To get started, could you introduce yourself for those who don’t know you yet?

My name is Matija, and I am a livestreamer and YouTuber. I mainly play OldSchool RuneScape and League of Legends.

Mika279 on YouTube.

As you say you are a cancer survivor, how did RuneScape help you with it?

I survived stage 4 Hodgkin’s lymphoma. RuneScape at the time was the only game that would work on my old laptop so I used that as an advantage and started creating RuneScape related content during my time spent in hospital. It was an amazing distraction and it kept my mind off things.

So what is RuneScape?

RuneScape is a fantasy based MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game).

When did you begin playing RuneScape, and how did you come across it?

I started playing it as early as I can remember. My best friends at the time all played it, everyone at school played it so I started to play it as well.

Did you have any prior knowledge of how to play the game, perhaps your friend who introduced you to the game also taught you how to play?

I always played the game with my friends and we learned how to play the game as we progressed our in-game accounts.

How and why did you choose your RSN? Did you want to change your name at any time?

My name was originally a troll name. Micka (a once common Slovenian name that is now usually associated with older women) seemed hilarious for the 7-year-old me. I later on transitioned from Micka to Mika as my following grew bigger mainly because I didn’t want to be known under the name “Micka”.

Do you have a favorite skill that you like working on more than others?

Slayer is definitely the skill that I like the most. It takes the longest to reach the maximum level in (99) and it is the most exciting to train.

Which level 99 was the most satisfying for you to achieve? What made it as satisfying as it was?

Probably cooking as it was my very first 99. It is also the easiest 99 to get but it felt the best reaching it.

On average, how many hours per day do you play?

It totally depends but probably a bit too much.

What current goals do you have?

My main goal right now is to win the PvP AllStars Championship hosted by Jagex (the creators of RuneScape) in which top 16 content creators fight it out to see who is the best PKer (Player Killer). The event will happen this Saturday, the 24th of November 2018, at 17.00 GMT.

So what is Deadman Mode? How is it different from normal game mode?

Deadman Mode (abb. DMM) is a seasonal event (it takes place four times each year) in which the top 2000 players get to participate in a tournament that lasts for a week. It is a last man standing tournament and the winner takes home $20,000.

Deadman Mode (DMM). Photo: RuneScape

What would you say is your proudest achievement in the game to date?

I’ve been 3rd and 2nd in back-to-back DMM tournaments.

Do you enjoy playing any other games or do you have any other hobbies other than RuneScape?

Besides RuneScape, I mainly play League of Legends and I am fairly good at it (D1 SoloQ, 1000LP Challenger 3v3).

Mika’s League of Legends achievements.

You are one of a handful of Slovenians who can pay the bills with their streams/YouTube videos. Is this your dream job or do you see yourself doing something else in the future?

I always wanted to play games for a living but never believed it was possible. This is what I want to work on for as long as I am able to. I love what I do.

You mentioned that you have been invited to the OldSchool RuneScape AllStars event this month in England as one of the best content creators. How did you react when you saw the invitation? Do you see it as a reward or maybe as a confirmation that all the hard work paid off?

I was happy and worried at the same time. It is a great motivation knowing you are appreciated by the creators of the game.

The lineup and format of the upcoming OSRS AllStars event. Photo: OSRSPvP Twitter

Are there any tips you would give to a newcomer to RuneScape or as a content creator?

If you want to create content, do not go into it for a wrong reason. A lot of new YouTubers and streamers go into it thinking the pay is great, expecting overnight fame. At the same time, though, do not be discouraged. Put your name out there. Ask your friends to watch you at first, build from there, and try to be unique!

OldSchool RuneScape Mobile. Photo: Jagex

Mika, thank for your time and best of luck to you in the upcoming AllStars event, DMM tournaments and content creation.

Watch Mika and his competitors in OldSchool RuneScape AllStars this Saturday, 24th of November 2018 at 17.00 GMT. Watch here >>

GewdGame is an esports talent marketplace and matching platform helping competitive gamers to build up their skills and manage their teams. Find and hire great teams, players or coaches using our marketplace — or just find a practice match partner!

Join us on Discord, Twitter, Facebook or Reddit, or better yet — sign up and start getting Gewd today!

--

--