What’s The Moves for 2018?

Ghilia Weldesselasie
Underdawg by Ghilia Weldesselasie
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readDec 30, 2017

What’s good? It’s your boi Ghili!

2017 was a crazy year!

In only a year, I’ve had the privilege of:

  1. Working as a community manager at AirSwap, one of the most promising decentralized exchanges.
  2. Building r/tokentrade, the first decentralized exchange on Reddit powered by the 0x protocol.
  3. Meeting and talking to several ambitious people in the blockchain space, all who are looking to solve important problems and make the world a better place.
  4. And of course, making those sweet gains on the crypto markets (thanks ETH) :)

Not bad for a 17 year old who’s ideas had always failed up until now.

2017 was a blessing indeed, but 2018 is looking even more promising.

Moves in 2018…

Going into 2018, I have several goals that I wanna achieve and will be writing about on this blog.

Within the next few months I want to learn Solidity and how to write smart contracts. I’ve been reading all the contracts I can find and I’ve also done the excellent lessons on cryptozombies.io (check it out now!). So far it’s going pretty well and I’m confident that I’ll be able to build a basic Dapp within the next 3 months. I’ll be writting more about how I’m gonna learn Solidity and all of the hacks I’ve found to accelerate my learning.

I don’t talk much about health but I also want to get into the habit of working out and eating well. I’m not unhealthy by any means but I recognize that I can do a lot better if not for a lack of discipline at times. Look forward to an article on how I’m going to find ways to get fit and eat well all while combatting my lazy tendencies (lol), it should be a dope experiment if you’re into that sorta thing.

One thing I want to work on is my network of contacts. In 2018, one of the main things I’ll be working on is expanding my network whether it’s by attending hackathons or even talks about blockchain tech.

And of course, it’s not a letter by Ghilia if there’s not mention of any financial goals. I recently realized that I’ll never make any money trying to trade because I’m a pretty shitty trader. That’s why I’ve decided to dedicate myself to just earning more ETH, whether that’s by working with companies in the crypto space or by releasing Dapps that generate income for me. I set a goal for myself to amass at least 100 ETH by the end of 2018. It would’ve been much easier had I started earlier but it still isn’t too late so I’ll be working on that.

Shoutout to all my followers

That’s all for the moves I have planned in 2018.

I just wanna shoutout all of the people who are subscribed to Underdawg and reading this right now.

Underdawg currently has 17 followers, impressive I know :)

Other than the lacks of Medium fame, having such a low follower counts has it perks, like being able to talk to all of you guys. That’s why I wanna take the time to reach out.

Please respond to this letter and:

  • Introduce yourself. Tell me more about yourself, what you do and what you’re working on at the moment.
  • Let me know what you liked about this blog and if you have any particular requests (ideas for a post I can write or something like that).

Other than that, I wish y’all a Happy New Year and I hope y’all have a successful 2018 as well. Don’t start loafing on those New Years resolutions :)

--

--