Ouch, Google! Again

A few months ago, Google sent out an email about “trying Google Apps for Business free for a month! $15% discount! Etc.”

I bit. Then I saw it was the discount was actually for more than one user (some price threshold but I forget what it is). “Fine” I said and upgraded anyways. “I can always downgrade after the month.”

Cue the dramatic break:

From: apps-noreply@google.com The Google Apps Team 
Date: Wed, 27 Mar 2013 21:37:13 -0400
Subject: Google Apps trial update
Hello from Google,
We hope you're enjoying your trial of Google Apps for Business. Here's some important information about your trial.
As you may know, we no longer accept new sign-ups for the basic (free) version of Google Apps. This means that once your trial of Google Apps for Business ends, you can no longer revert back to the free version. [Emphasis mine.]
We're glad you're trying out Google Apps for Business and hope you enjoy all the benefits including 24/7 support, unlimited users, mobile device management and more.
Sincerely,
The Google Apps Team
----------
(c) 2013 Google Inc. 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043
You have received this mandatory email service announcement to update you about important changes to your Google Apps product or account.
Can you say "oops"?  I thought you could.  Guess I can forget about freeloading on Google's dime ever again.  Google's doing a real "Apple" here... guess they want their own walled garden.
Fine then, I don't have to be inside of it.