Mobile App Concept: KFC NFC Card App

Joseph-Albert Kuuire
GhUXDesign
4 min readAug 28, 2018

--

When I’m driving home, I usually like try and pick up something to eat on the way. Usually, I work out of East Legon in Accra till late so when I’m heading home, I like to pick up a quick bite to eat when I get home.

The KFC in East Legon has a drive-thru and it’s really convenient to just drive through and order something to eat.

I’ve been trying to go cashless as much as possible in Ghana but I know that if I’m going to pass through the KFC Drive Thru, I have to have cash on me. So I always make sure I have about 40–60 GHC on me before I go through the drive thru.

It’s kind of annoying because it means I have to stop by the nearest ATM to make sure I have cash on me before going to the drive thru.

In my many drives through KFC, I wondered if there could be a better way to buy from their premises without using cash. So I decided to design a solution to go cashless at KFC.

KFC Concept App

First things users can do on the app is sign up. Or they could continue as guest and make a one time order.

Users are then given KFC’s menu selection to select from.

In this case, I would want a burger since it’s something I could easily eat in a short period of time.

I add my selection to the cart and check out at wherever location I want to pick my order from. I can add other menu items before I check out though.

I can either pay for my meal with Mobile Money or my credit card.

I would want to use my Card so I would select the “Card” option. I then have an option to add new card or use a saved card on my account.

After selecting my card, I enter my PIN number and just like that, I’ve ordered a meal to be picked up at a KFC location of my choice.

Here’s what the full experience would look like from login to checkout

Here’s a link to the prototype: Prototype

NFC Card Option

Now what about the part about paying when using the KFC drive thru? I thought using a credit card would be an easy option. But the whole process of swiping, entering a PIN number and waiting for a confirmation would take a bit of time.

So I thought about the next best thing: NFC Payments.

On the app is an “NFC card” option. In this section, users can first order an NFC card to be delivered or picked up at any KFC spot.

With the card in hard, a user can load the card through their smartphone. They can use Mobile Money or their card to purchase money onto the card.

After money is virtually loaded onto the card, a user just have to “Tap” the card with their smartphone for the transfer to take place.

Thanks for reading. Let me know what you think of the concept in the comments.

--

--

Joseph-Albert Kuuire
GhUXDesign

My personal writing space. (UX Designer | Blogger | Social Introvert) UX Design writing: josephkuuire.com