Brief | Taskade, a new ‘work processing’ app

A promising start, but there’s a lot yet to implement in Taskade

Stowe Boyd
GigaOm

--

Background

I recently had a chance to speak with John Xie, the founder and CEO of Taskade, a new content-centric work management tool. I mentioned that an earlier problem I had encountered with importing content seemed to have been resolved in a more updated version of the tool.

At its core, Taskade is a competitor to Dropbox Paper, Box Notes, and Salesforce Quip, and has similar features to them. As a nickname, I call these ‘work processing’ tools, based on the notion of ‘word processing’, since you can use them as a lightweight editor for editing documents in the cloud, with the added functionality of task management.

As an example, in the screenshot below I’ve captured I created a document in Taskade called ‘Taskade’, in which I was writing the brief you are now reading. At the bottom of the image you can see a block called ‘actions’ with three tasks defined, and assigned to me.

The Taskade doc editor

The task system works pretty much as you’d expect, with attachments, comments, assignment, and deadlines. The only thing lacking in that regard is there is no means to view all the tasks assigned to me (or someone else) across all docs. However, as we’ll see, there are some…

--

--

Stowe Boyd
GigaOm

Insatiably curious. Economics, sociology, ecology, tools for thought. See also workfutures.io, workings.co, and my On The Radar column.