Blinker the Star shares new album ‘Careful With Your Magic’ — Interview

GIGsoup
GIGsoup
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2019

Blinker the Star is the single-person studio unit, Jordan Zadorozny, who has worked with artists such as Courtney Love, Chris Cornell, Linsdsey Buckingham, and others. After a few various lineups of Blinker the Star, Jordan has returned to a solo project to release his newest collection of songs, Careful With Your Magic.

Lead single “Sweet Nothing” is a driving piano-pop ballad with melodic vocals. You can stream below and make sure to read our interview with Jordan of Blinker The Star!

Can you talk to us about the inspiration behind “Careful With Your Magic”?

I don’t know if “inspiration” is the right word. Making music for me is a daily ritual that happens no matter what is going on in my life. Sometimes it flows freely and sometimes it doesn’t.

How has your community contributed to your success?

I would say that where I grew up definitely contributed to how I turned out as a person, but that I would be making music no matter where I lived.

What advice would you give other musicians?

I don’t think I have any general advice to musicians, but ask me something specific about music and I might go on for an hour.

Describe to our audience your music-making process.

My process is somewhat automatic and meditative and almost always solitary. I work alone in my own studio and if things are going well, 3 hours will feel like a minute to me.

How did it feel when you released this new music?

David Bowie was once asked, “Do you still enjoy the process of making records?”. He replied, “No, I like finishing them”. I wouldn’t go quite that far, but finishing and releasing new music is very hard to top.

If you could collaborate with any musician/band, who would it be? And why?

Laura Marling. I think she is best songwriter of our time.

What first got you interested into music?

I was raised by two musicians who owned a musical instrument store. I have a difficult time imagining how I would have turned out any differently.

--

--