Recognition of Sanctuary

Justin Wilson
Ginitaa-ozhibii’igemin
3 min readDec 7, 2020

Written by Ricky Roy

Recognition of Sanctuary

There was a moment in my life when I felt like giving up on successfully passing a college semester. I wanted to quit because I didn’t understand what was being taught by my instructors. I have sacrificed friendships that posed a threat to my education. My life became lonely as I sat for endless hours studying in my parent’s basement. My soul began to feel weak and exhausted. Until one night, on a camping trip, I found my sanctuary. Sanctuary offers serenity to crazy minds and can revitalize a fatigued soul. Nothing is greater than or equal to the day when you unexpectedly find your sanctuary. I remember the day I stumbled upon my recognition of sanctuary.

It was the summer of 2018 and I was in summer school. I was stressed out from the previous school semester in addition to the current semester that I was attending, and I was ready to give up. I needed to take a break from the endless hours of studying, so I asked my cousin when the next time he would be going camping would be. Coincidentally, he said he was going to go camping the following weekend. When that day arrived, we packed up his pontoon and sailed to the island.

My cousin Henry Grayhawk, his family, and I had decided to set up camp on the tree line of Star Island. Next to our camp was a sandy beach on Cass Lake. We remained awake late into the night sitting in chairs and silence until my cousin’s voice broke the quietness. He started singing a round dance that I recognized. My voice would back his lead and shortly his daughter’s young voice would follow. All three of our voices synced beautifully. Behind us, the trees swayed back and forth. It looked as if they were dancing to our voices. I could feel my mind easing into serenity. After everyone fell asleep, I walked towards the shores of the lake and little did I know, I was about to embark on a hallucinogenic like peregrination.

As I approached the beach, the night’s breeze whispered enchantments of peace into my ears. As my feet restfully absorbed the comfort of the sands, I closed my eyes and absorbed the secrets the night bestowed upon my senses. The waves delicately washing ashore sounded as stunning as the melody embodied in the round dance Henry, his daughter and i sang next to the campfire. I slowly inhaled through my nose. I could smell the wet sands and water of the lake. I have never smelled anything as splendid as this

scent. And when I opened my eyes, my attention was focused on the lake. I admired the lake as the water vividly reflected the beautiful cloudless night sky. Hurriedly, I undressed and charged the lake while holding my breath with closed eyes. I waited for the coldness of the water to engulf my skin, but the water was warm. I was in a sailboat gliding atop of those dark waters. Slowly, I drifted off into yet another serenity floating through space. With my arms out, I drifted through space as the stars and galaxies grazed across my fingers tips. After returning to reality I opened my eyes. I had floated a far distance from the shore.

After returning to shore I sat on the beach with my feet in the water. Softly, as I looked to the clear night sky, I whispered to myself, “If you ever get lost and forget who you are, or how important this one moment is, just be still. Silence is full of answers, and so are you (Jen 2017).” At that very moment I realized I was alone again, but the feeling was different. This loneliness was solitude. I was no longer feeling the pressure of assignment deadlines. I was no longer worrying about failing a class. I was stress free. I was happy. The sight of the lake mirroring the stars and moon relaxed my tired soul and calmed my chaotic mind. My mind was so calm that I could have heard the whispers of angels

and god deep within heaven. My soul felt recharged and alive again. This place now has sentimental value to me. This is a place I can go to and reflect on special memories. I have found my sanctuary on the beach of Star Island.

— Ricky Roy

--

--

Justin Wilson
Ginitaa-ozhibii’igemin
0 Followers

Proud Indigenous American pursuing an education in counseling providing a support system for today’s youth. Current editor for LLTC’s student publication.