Winter Weather Blues

Ann Cloud
Ginitaa-ozhibii’igemin
1 min readDec 9, 2020

by anonymous

https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/life/g25250143/winter-quotes/

Snowflakes fall on top of a frozen earth, covering the ground with iridescent hues.

Each flake adding to the weight of a blanket, that’s made entirely of sheer blues.

Matching my mood with the color

Why does everything feel so blue?

Freezing cold and lonely with only a pillow to hold, thinking to myself that these are definite cues.

How did I find myself here? When did I get so old? Molding to the shape of my bed, I hadn’t a clue.

Matching my mood with the color

Why does everything feel so blue?

However, I am fortunate to feel anything at all including breathing in this winter air.

It’s just that I’m all out of positive cares, due to my mind being held hostage by dreary weather scares.

Matching my mood with the color

Why does everything feel so blue?

Until this season subsides, here in my bed is where I’ll stay, searching for a place in time that doesn’t feel so cruel

Until my winter weather dues go far away,iIn this mindset I’m doomed to suffer another blue winter day.

--

--

Ann Cloud
Ginitaa-ozhibii’igemin
0 Followers

My name is Ann Cloud, I am an enrolled member of the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe pursuing an AA in Liberal Education at the Leech Lake Tribal College and I will a