Six Tips For Getting the Most Out of An NFT or Crypto Conference

Buse Fidan
Ginoa.io
Published in
7 min readJul 5, 2022

Written by Mark Wieder, NFT NYC 2022 Attendee and Head of US for Ginoa

“There’s a difference between speed and velocity. With speed, you move, but with velocity, you move somewhere. You have direction.Mental Models

What’s up, everyone? I’m Mark, Head of US for Ginoa, and I had the pleasure of attending NFT NYC 2022. NFT NYC was my first conference in a long time and my first NFT event ever. Today I’ll tell you a little about myself, explain why I chose to work with Ginoa, and provide six tips for getting the most out of your next NFT or crypto conference.

(The Edge NYC with Starcatchers, Whiskers, Sprite Club, and Vinnie Hager)

About Me

I’ve run a startup sparkling fruit beverage brand for the last five years. I successfully pitched the business into four accelerators, received equity-free funding, and navigated the brand through three remarkable growth periods. Prior, I worked as an energy attorney (weird pivot, I know). I’m an avid runner, explorer, and multi-disciplinary artist. When I’m not working, you can find me creating, kiteboarding, and hanging out with my cat, Pumpkin Pie.

I entered the crypto space roughly two years ago and quickly segued from trading cryptocurrencies to flipping NFTs on Ethereum and Solana. The more I learned about NFTs and cryptocurrencies, the more I became interested in learning about the blockchain space as a whole, so I started lending a hand to product launches for DeFi, portfolio management, and PFP (profile picture) projects.

My heart lies in brand building, connection making, and product growth, which is why I’m happy to find a home here at Ginoa.

Why Ginoa?

I met the Ginoa team shortly before NFT NYC. At the time, I was pretty content going to the conference for pleasure. I wanted to (1) meet my Discord and crypto Twitter friends IRL and (2) use my tokens to attend various activations around New York. (NYC is like a second home.)

When Ginoa’s advisor, Cigdem, suggested I meet the team, I figured, why not? Real talk: I loved the team and the website’s UX/UI, but I didn’t see a need for NFT price estimation.

I wondered, “at what price should I list my NFTs?” when I began my NFT journey. Helpful pricing tools were virtually non-existent, so I did what most folks did and still do: I picked a number based on collection sales, rarity, and gut. In my mind, Ginoa’s price estimation app was NGMI.

BUT, when I learned that Ginoa’s Price Estimator is artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning tools laying the foundation for a broader ecosystem, my interest increased significantly. Ginoa can develop the best Barter Place, Autonomous NFT Trader, and NFT Pawn products because its AI algorithms and machine learning tools are the keystone.

I believe AI and machine learning will elevate how we buy, sell, trade, and navigate the world of NFTs. My prediction is that we’ll see a dramatic rise in web3 brands taking advantage of AI over the next few years, and I don’t want to be late to the party, so I decided to join.

(Ginoa Roadmap)

NFT NYC 2022

Representing a brand at NFT NYC created a few obstacles since my mental preparation went from “let’s have fun in the city” to ➡️ “work with a little fun on the side.”

NFT NYC has dozens, maybe hundreds of events spread across the city. I quickly realized that I wouldn’t be able to meet everyone or do everything, so I worked with the team to develop a list of five events to attend each day. Maybe that’s a bonus tip: Have a reasonable plan.

With a plan in hand, I set off on my adventure!

Here are six essential tips to help you make the most of your next NFT or crypto conference.

#1 Have a Goal.

I’m a runner. I’ve raced everything from 400 meters to 50 miles. Attending a multi-day conference is like running a long race. Have a goal and stick with it.

You have a goal when racing, like finishing(!), running a personal best, winning, or having fun with a pal. My goal for Ginoa was to find genuine and meaningful connections.

Making genuine connections isn’t about quantity. It’s about quality. So, I tried to make one meaningful connection at each event. I ended up making multiple connections every time.

#2 Go with the flow.

I didn’t hear about ‘the littles’ and TIME Pieces get-together until the day of the event, but I’m glad I decided to go. I met the team from the littles, reps from TIME, and a photographer named Max, whom I bumped into again later. Sup, Max!

You can stress yourself out trying too hard to stick to your plan, especially in a city as large as New York. Remember to go with the flow.

(Making frens at TIME Studios and the littles NFT.)

#3 Arrive Early.

Fashionably late is fashionably out of style at conferences. Show up early to events. Simply put, it’s easier to talk to attendees, sponsors, moderators, and speakers before an event than after one.

Early arrival means more than showing up early to presentations. Arrive early to the conference itself. I might’ve met more people on Monday at the Thirdweb x MintParty x Paper event than I did Tuesday thru Thursday during conference hours.

(Spike Lee and Sade Baderinwa, the Future of Film and NFTs, Radio City Music Hall hosted by Coinbase)

#4 Think Small.

Small and intimate events are a great way to meet people because smaller venues provide better opportunities for networking than large venues.

Large corporate sponsors help draw big-name speakers, and I’m thankful for that. But don’t expect to meet big-name sponsors or speakers at these events. You’ll either have to find your way backstage or wait in a long line.

When you do attend a large venue, consider hanging out in the lobby, the lounge area, or the coffee line for a bit. I met amazing people in all of these spots.

(Lounging with The Crypto Business Pod and The NiFTy Chicks Pod at NFT NYC)

#5 Be Yourself.

Did you get to the DECA event? Because it was awesome. I met Tyler Hobbs, a legendary generative artist, there. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I get my words twisted talking to people I admire. So, I told him I liked his shirt. (Lol.)

(Live at DECA with Bonafide Han, DC Investor, Tyler Hobbs, and Punk6529)

Meeting Danny Casale at the Coolman’s Universe event was a dream, too. I felt kind of nerdy giving him a sticker from his own project (I hear he put it on his laptop), but it was a natural gesture.

(Danny Casale Visual Creator and Founder of Coolman’s Universe.)

I like giving compliments and handing out stickers. That’s me. Be yourself and put yourself out there.

I handwrote “@Mark_Wieder @Ginoa_io Twitter” on the back of every sticker I shared. The stickers weren’t related to Ginoa. Instead, they were from NFT communities I love because it allowed me to talk about my interests outside of work.

Which brings me to my last point…

#6 Pitching Your Brand.

Here’s the thing: Everyone is pitching their brand at a conference, so it’s possibly more exciting to meet someone who isn’t going full throttle into a business pitch right off the bat.

Consider sharing one straightforward sentence about your brand. If your new friend isn’t bored to death, then add your 15-second pitch.

You know you’re doing a good job pitching your brand when your audience’s eyes don’t glaze over. Give them a follow on social, share a gift, and reach out later.

Conclusion

The full tank of energy at the start of a conference doesn’t always exist at the end. Have some fun and do what you came to do.

If you follow the tips outlined above, you’re likely to get the most out of your NFT or crypto conference while making a great first impression.

Thank you for reading our blog. Please take a moment to follow Ginoa on Twitter. You can find me there, too. @Mark_Wieder

See you soon NYC!

(Erin, JeNFT, JenMarie, Melissa, and I at NFT NYC headquarters.)

--

--