From Opera to Product Marketing: Sara LeMesh

Girl Develop It San Franc
Girl Develop It San Francisco
2 min readOct 10, 2017
Sara LeMesh earned a Master of Music Degree from Bard before becoming a Product Marketing Manager and learning to code with Girl Develop It.

How did you decide to learn to code?

For most of my life, I wanted to be a professional opera singer. Born and raised in Marin County, I started singing and playing piano at the age of seven, and earned a Bachelor of Music Degree from Rice University and Master of Music Degree from Bard College.

I have attended music festivals all over the world to hone my craft, including Salzburg, France, Santa Barbara, Aspen, CO, and Lenox, MA. After graduating from Bard in 2014, I relocated to the Bay Area where I sang with the SF Opera Chorus, Mendocino Music Festival, and American Bach Soloists.

My curiosity regarding technology emerged organically during the past few years. I suspect, however, that this curiosity existed long before! After managing social media pages for a record label and recruiting for various positions at a staffing agency, I determined tech might be fun and interesting.

Since January 2017, I have been a sales representative at a tech startup, and will soon begin a new position as an Associate Product Marketing Manager. I have loved learning about coding and software, and now understand that my desire to analyze music is not that different from breaking down code. :)

What was it like to take a GDI class?

Everyone was so welcoming, open, and supportive at my first GDI class. The instructors, TA’s, and students purposefully fostered an inclusive and safe environment to ask questions and learn. I was definitely nervous at first, but quickly realized that everyone strives to uplift one another. While I entered the course feeling hesitant and nervous, I left feeling empowered and inspired to enroll in every available class!

What will you do with skills you learned at GDI?

I’d ultimately like to become a full-time developer. However, it’s so cool that I’m already utilizing the skills I’ve learned! As a salesperson, I maintained a better understanding of my company’s products. When I begin Product Marketing later this month, I look forward to developing internal sites and resources pages. Perhaps most importantly, though, I feel more confident and determined to keep coding after taking GDI courses!

What advice would you give to beginners who are learning to code?

I would steal GDI’s motto and say: don’t be shy, develop it! The fact that you are curious and want to learn will take you far! You definitely can learn to code, and you’re in the right place at GDI. Most new skills take time and patience to cultivate, and it’s okay to feel stumped sometimes (I definitely do!). Keep chipping away and know that you will inspire others along the way.

Ready to learn to code? Take a class with us in San Francisco, or find your local chapter in 56 other cities in the United States.

--

--

Girl Develop It San Franc
Girl Develop It San Francisco

Want to learn how to code? Have a great idea? Don't be shy. Develop it.