Many years after ‘Before the Internet’

A Tokyo Girl named after New York —5

Iku Okada
TYO <- -> NYC

--

I was very moved by all of my friends in Lang-8 correcting my English in a day. It’s really good of you to do that. How amazing!

I was also surprised by the number of Medium readers who right away “recommended” my poor English article. I had assumed that it would take weeks or months to be read.

I’d never thought about those kind of things in my schooldays in the late 1990s. If I met my young self who had been totally bored by high-school English lessons, I would want to say to her, “Make it happen, it will come true in the Internet”.

Still I can’t let go of my Japanese-English web dictionary and machine translating system, but I think the most important thing is to carry on day by day. Thank you for your cooperation!

--

--

Iku Okada
TYO <- -> NYC

Iku Okada (岡田育) is a Japanese writer, based in NYC. Since 2014, Iku has authored six narrative essays and one co-authored book. https://www.okadaic.net