Shared time, monopolized time.

A Tokyo Girl named after New York —4

Iku Okada
TYO <- -> NYC

--

Bothered by what I should write on Lang-8, first of all, I decided to translate my Japanese tweets into English. My Twitter account has nearly 13,000 followers since 2007, and it has made me a little famous in the Japanese linguistics area.

Even in the same 140 letters, we can write the longer, richer sentence in Japanese, than in English. It means that translating Japanese 140-letter-tweets is a good training for me to write the longer, richer sentence in English.

Here is my tweet of the day below.

=====

Tweets of the day 05/10/2014

After starting to live together with my partner, find that I don’t have much time to listen to music alone. I found that the time for listening to music is less and less. I have few chances to listen to music for a long time like playing records.

I have much time for working and thinking only by myself and I occasionally shuffle the iTunes playlists during my own time. But it’s totally different from the time for playing records; listening to an whole album through from the opening track to the end.

It’s similar to the time for riding my bicycle. Both are hobby for singles. We can’t share our pedals, our dutiful ears, and our time like this. I thought that we can always share music together but we cannot share the private time for listening to music alone. These can’t be the shared time like eating, drinking, and watching TV. So I let the chance go by instead for shared time.

I feel grateful about my partner never interrupting my own time or my precious solitude. No one can blame it on him, the change has happened to me with our communal life. I miss having time for playing records alone. But It will become much more special in my new life.

--

--

Iku Okada
TYO <- -> NYC

Iku Okada (岡田育) is a Japanese writer, based in NYC. Since 2014, Iku has authored six narrative essays and one co-authored book. https://www.okadaic.net