The advice I’d give After School girls

Girls in the Game
Girls in the Game
Published in
4 min readJun 26, 2018

Written by: Maria Barba

I arrived in August as a Year-of-Service volunteer ready to tackle the 30 weeks of After School programming. At first, I was daunted by the notion that I would be going to five different schools during the week and coordinating up to seven schools. I met 88 girls ranging from 2nd graders to 8th graders. I had no idea how I was going to remember all those names.

To my surprise, I learned more than just their names. I learned who these girls are as people.

I learned details of their interests:

· O’mariah loves to dance. She often came to programming with a new dance move to teach me.

· Nevaeh loves musicals. She would quietly sing lyrics to Dear Evan Hansen while I’d hum along.

· Londyn loves to perform. She was always ready to strut down a runway or belt a song at the top of her lungs.

· Anna loves to cook. One day, she described her tireless determination to perfect the side dish she made for Thanksgiving.

· Samantha loves to read. We’d exchange book recommendations and hold mini discussions before programming started.

· Tais loves to joke. She would have her coaches laughing hysterically through her silly actions.

· Lanaya loves her sister. The tender care she demonstrated to her sister whenever she had accelerated heart palpitations was pure kindness.

Building these strong relationships with the girls was my priority. Every day I entered their world for about two hours. I knew I needed to take an active role in their lives even for that short time. I was conscientious about not just checking-in with the group, but individuals too.

Establishing trust with the girls was one of the most important things I did. I wanted them to trust me, and I also wanted to trust them. This reciprocity is what allowed for me to engage with them on a more personal level. The girls confided in me about their daily struggles and challenges at school and at home.

Often, I did not have an immediate answer or a long-term solution. However, I did want the girls to know that I was there for them, rooting for them and uplifting them.

If I could leave the girls I worked with or girls who want to join with some advice, it would be:

1. Follow your passions. All the girls I worked with had amazing and different interests. I encourage them to continue to explore those areas that bring them joy and comfort.

2. Stay Positive. Negative thoughts bring people down and weigh on you. I hope the girls can reframe situations when things become difficult or complicated.

3. Have fun! I can’t emphasize this enough! It’s in our five-finger contract. It allows you to be able to completely let go of your inhibitions and be present in the moment. Whether that’s through a game of soccer or a game of Jenga (Girls in the Game style), it is liberating and enjoyable.

Girls in the Game’s After School Programs is officially done for the school year. I am saddened that I won’t be commuting to these five schools anymore. However, I am confident that Girls in the Game was as much a positive experience for them as it was for me.

If you’re interested in making an impact in girls lives, apply to become a part of our team here.

Maria Barba is an After School Coordinator with Girls in the Game. She graduated from Stanford University with a degree in Human Biology in 2017. She joined Jesuit Volunteer Corps where she was matched to work with Girls in the Game. After JVC, Maria will complete the Teacher Education Program at UCLA. Maria enjoys running, and she ran her first half marathon last summer in San Francisco!

--

--

Girls in the Game
Girls in the Game

We believe all girls have the power to be gamechangers. 50,000 leaders created since 1995. 👊 www.girlsinthegame.org