Sarah Page
Girls Running Things
3 min readFeb 4, 2016

--

I consider myself a fitness enthusiast. I enjoy yoga, swimming, hiking, biking and other activities and ran my first marathon last year. I was not always into exercising though. I remember times when, for various reasons including depression, I was unable to exercise even though I wanted to and knew I should. So what helped me get enthusiastic about working out?

1) DON’T GET TOO COMFORTABLE. One thing that helped when I was depressed and had a hard time getting around to exercising was not letting myself sit or lie down when I got home. It was too easy to come home from work and lay on a couch or my bed thinking I was going to rest for a bit. I would get too comfortable, feeling lazy, and would never get up to exercise. This happened many times and I realized that if I let myself get too comfortable I wouldn’t move. So I made a rule that when I got home I would not sit or lie down. Instead I would get ready for a workout and go do it. If I had extra time before a class I would walk around the apartment tidying up or doing other chores, anything to keep in motion.

2) GROUP CLASSES. Let’s face it, exercising is not always the funnest thing in the world. It’s time-consuming and takes a lot of energy and focus. I don’t really like doing weight training in a gym, but I can enjoy a class with weights. It helps to be guided through the motions, literally told what to do and when. That helps a bit with the focus part, because I’m not thinking about what I’m doing as much as just doing it and making sure I’m doing it the best I can. It gets you out of your head. It also helps to be around other people doing the same thing. Yoga teachers often talk about how the energy of the people around you can help you get through a workout. Classes also make the time go by faster.

3) MOMENTUM. Don’t stop. Get into a routine that you can manage and keep doing it. Exercise (combined with healthy eating habits) will make you feel better. You may get sore muscles from time to time, but overall you will find you have more energy and will see other benefits. These benefits will increase and be easier to realize as long as you don’t stop exercising. It’s ok to miss a planned workout from time to time. You don’t want to overdo it. However, don’t miss too many workouts or it will be hard to get back into the swing of it. When you have a continual workout schedule, you will start to crave exercise, knowing how a certain workout makes you feel. Exercise becomes its own reward.

4) SPLURGE ON GEAR. If you do group classes like yoga or spinning you may spend more time than you’re used to looking at yourself in a mirror. Indulge yourself in cute workout outfits, sparkly headbands or funny t-shirts. Consider it an investment in your health and know that you are worth it! If you like to run and start running long distances, go to a shoe store for runners where the staff can help you select the best sneaker for your foot shape and running style. If you swim, get a comfortable swim suit and good-fitting goggles.

5) TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. Get enough sleep. Don’t smoke. Drink in moderation or not at all. Not getting enough sleep will take a toll on your body and you won’t have enough energy to exercise or it will be extra hard to motivate yourself to get out there. Smoke if you want to, I smoked for many years, but exercise will be much easier when you quit. Drinking is a depressant and it is hard to motivate yourself when you’re depressed. Also, your body won’t feel good enough for a workout if you’ve been drinking. You want to take care of yourself so you can make it through your next workout, and the next and the next…

--

--