Pre-Workout Oatmeal Recipe

Sarah Page
Girls Running Things
2 min readJul 22, 2016

I’m always tweaking my “diet” as I learn more and try different things, and recently switched to oatmeal for my pre-workout snack. If you aren’t familiar with the concept of eating something before a workout, check out this article. When I told my sports nutritionist that I was feeling nauseous in my evening workouts she suggested I eat something about an hour or so before and ever since I started doing that I don’t get that nausea, so I know it’s important for me.

For a long time bagels were my pre-workout snack of choice. Particularly with some nut butter or butter and honey with cinnamon. When I was eating low-carb for awhile I switched to fat bombs. In acknowledgment of the advantage of eating whole grains over processed foods like bread and pasta, I switched to oatmeal for my pre-workout snack and it has worked out great. It gives me the energy I need without feeling bloated or nauseous. Here is the recipe I have developed over time.

Oatmeal (I use Oatmeal Complete from Trader Joe’s)
1/4 cup half and half or almond milk
2 scoops Source whey protein
1 tsp. coconut sugar (or other sweetener)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 TBSP pecan pieces

I think the preparation is pretty self-explanatory but basically you prepare the oatmeal according to the instructions on the box, add the milk and whey and stir, then add everything else as toppings.

Here is a photo of my oatmeal from a recent day at work:

Enjoy!

--

--