Should we wipe off sweat?

Sarah Page
Girls Running Things
2 min readAug 21, 2015

I’m an active person. I enjoy running, hiking, and yoga. I just completed my first full marathon a few months ago. In doing these things I sweat a lot. I don’t want to be having a nice scenic run or a strengthening yoga class and be bothered by sweat dripping down my face. It’s distracting and uncomfortable.

I am a student of Bikram yoga and was taught to not wipe sweat off because sweat has a cooling effect. However, as this article points out, if the sweat is dripping off you (as it often is for me), you can wipe it away. But how? In a gym you can use a towel to wipe your face, but towels can be abrasive to the skin and absorb too much sweat, in which case you lose the cooling effect. And what about when you are running? It’s not convenient to bring a towel, it’s unwieldly and too heavy, and cotton towels are not quick-drying so once they get wet they aren’t effective. You can use your sleeves but not if you have short sleeves or tank tops. You can always use your hands, but the oil and anything else on your hands can contribute to acne, and besides your hands aren’t very absorbent.

What if you had a soft, comfortable, lightweight towel that wrapped around your wrist and folded out into a hand towel? I have created just that, and I call it the wristy: a highly absorbent, sweat-wicking towel that wraps around your wrist. It features an innovative design with a fold-out pocket that fits over your hand so you can easily wipe off sweat while on the go. It is something I invented based on my own needs. It helps me manage my sweat and be more comfortable while doing the things I love.

Here’s a a couple photos I took of a wristy I used on a recent 10-mile run. Notice how dry the top layer is, and how the sweat is wicked away to the underside.

Top layer of wristy is amazingly dry
Sweat is wicked to underside of wristy

You can check out my kickstarter campaign for this new athletic accessory here: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1753336389/sweat-absorbing-wrist-towel-the-wristy. Let me know what you think!

--

--